a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

Ok, first. I stepped on my glasses, which had slipped on to the floor in the middle of the night from the (admittedly not secure) perch that I had put them on and I broke the frame. Dear Readers, Dear Cineastes all, I’m sure you wear eye-glasses, too. I have had them since I was a child. I always felt defined by them. Not always in a good way.

And now that I’ve been on television for Yonks, as the Cockneys say, being so constantly photographed in them and usually in a close-up. That’s what TV is. A Close-Up. An Endless Close-Up. Like for instance, Sally Jesse Raphael. What do you remember most about her? Her red-framed eye-glasses.

So I put a lot of thought into trying to find, well, glasses that just look like mine in the picture above.^ I’ve had them for eight years, it turns out, and they have served me well. And have worked for the TV viewers, I think, at least to the extent that they photograph well, but not obtrusively.

So I went to my place where I had originally got them, on Lower Broadway, near my old studio, and while they had my name still on file.(I had just had an eye exam and my pupils were dilated, dontcha know.But I need new glasses IMMEDIATELY because these were/are held together with just a wing and a prayer. I mean, I stepped on them in just the right place so that I was able to pop the lens back in and they’ve sort of held together…) The guy in the store, who remembered me, said “You’re taking a big risk, wearing them.” Broken.

But…

Running around the streets of New York, like I do, if they fell apart and the lens shattered…I would be…well…I would be blind…and in trouble.

So the previous Lower Broadway Eye Place(not its’ name) had a BEAUTIFUL pair of frames that they could give me(and this is without the charge of an eye exam, mind you, which I had just had elsewhere) the price tag, and here’s the punch-line was $300!?! Or more! I nearly fainted.

I had to sadly decline. And went to search for another eye-glass place, which was recommended to me that I THOUGHT was in the Puck Building, y’know where “Will and Grace” was set? I had never been in there and come to find out THEY MOVED! Then I was given bad directions by a smirking security guard, but finally after staggering around Soho AS IT BEGAN TO RAIN(and of course, no umbrella) for what seemed like HOURS,  I finally found them on Greene St.

They really were worth the search! The unusual name is Worby Parker. And they’re at 121 Greene Street, and a very nice young gentleman helped me try on pair-after-pair. I felt like a rich, bored woman in a shoe store, trying on heels that NEVER FIT!

But finally there was one that worked with my face, and would look good photographed! And was only $125!?! New Yorkers take note! This is the kind of miracle one is always hoping for in New York, and so rarely happens!

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

