a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

If you’ve ever wondered just who nominates the carefully, but sometimes, puzzling, choices for the Tony Awards nominations, here’s a VERY complete list of the nominators. Who, I have to admit, are very, very serious about their choices. And as you can see, they are obliged to see EVERYTHING that opens on Broadway all season long. Which sounds delightful, but is really sometimes a daunting prospect, and certainly requires a deep, deep commitment to theater, and to quality.

There is a much larger body of Tony voters. Something like 800 or so. This committee nominates, and I guess they can also vote, but they’ve already voted by choosing their nominees. It’s quite a mixed bag of educators, which surprised me, and actors, and designers, and …others.


2014-2015 Tony AwardsÒ Nominating Committee Announced

New York, NY (June 11, 2014) – The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced today the Nominating Committee for the 2014-2015 Broadway season. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The Nominating Committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season. The committee of Tony Nominators will include 50 members for the 2014-2015 season:


  • Douglas Aibel – Artistic Dir., The Vineyard Theatre
  • Arin Arbus – Associate Artistic Dir., Theatre for a New Audience
  • Ira Bernstein – Former Producer/General Manager/Stage Manager/Casting Director
  • Susan Birkenhead- Lyricist
  • Mark Brokaw – Artistic Dir., Yale Institute for Music Theatre/Director
  • Barry Brown – Retired Broadway Producer**
  • Donald Byrd – Choreographer
  • Ben Cameron – Program Dir. for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, NY
  • Mary Schmidt Campbell – Dean, Tisch School of the Arts
  • Veronica Claypool – Arts Management Consultant, Full Circle Management Group/Former GM
  • Paul Cremo – Dramaturg/Director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera**
  • John Darnton – Former Cultural Editor, The New York Times
  • Jacqueline Z. Davis – Executive Dir., The NY Public Library for the P. A. at Lincoln Center
  • Rick Elice – Playwright
  • Harvey Evans – Actor**
  • Paul Gallo – Lighting Designer**
  • Kent Gash – Director/Founding Dir., of NYU Tisch School of the Arts’ New Studio on Broadway
  • Liza Gennaro – Choreographer
  • Jenny Gersten – Executive Director, Friends of the High Line**
  • Adam Guettel – Composer/Lyricist
  • Wendall K. Harrington – Projection Designer/Lecturer
  • Philip Himberg – Artistic Director, Sundance Institute Theatre Program
  • Jack Hofsiss – Theatre/Film/Television Director**
  • Ann Hould-Ward – Costume Designer
  • Julie Hughes – Former Casting Director
  • Cheyenne Jackson – Actor
  • Stephen Karam – Playwright
  • Corby Kummer – Senior Editor, The Atlantic Magazine
  • Dick Latessa – Actor
  • John Leguizamo – Actor/Playwright
  • Kate Levin – Cultural Assets Management Principal, Bloomberg Associates**
  • Reynold Levy – Former President of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts**
  • Sara Lukinson – Documentary Film Producer/Television Writer
  • Patricia Marx – American Humorist and Writer/Former Television Writer**
  • Marsha Mason – Actor/Playwright
  • Jim McLaughlin – Former Producer, CBS News/TV Feature and Documentary Producer**
  • Roger Morgan – Lighting Designer/Theatre Designer**
  • Debra Monk – Actor**
  • Katherine Oliver – Media and Entertainment Executive**
  • Christian Parker – Assoc. Artistic Dir. at Atlantic Theater Co./Chair, Columbia MFA Theatre Program**
  • Mary-Louise Parker – Actor
  • Ravi S. Rajan – Dean, School of the Arts – SUNY Purchase**
  • Nigel Redden – Gen. Dir., Spoleto Festival USA/Dir., Lincoln Center Festival
  • Susan H. Schulman – Director/President, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society**
  • Arlene Shuler – President & CEO, New York City Center
  • Scott Schwartz – Director
  • Linda Shelton – Executive Dir., Joyce Theater Foundation
  • Wynn Thomas – Production Designer**
  • Robin Wagner – Scenic Designer
  • Preston Whiteway – Executive Director, The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center**


**Denotes new Nominating Committee Member


For more information, visit TonyAwards.com, and follow the Tonys at Facebook.com/TheTonyAwards, @TheTonyAwards on Twitter, and Instagram.com/TheTonyAwards. #TonyAwards.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: