a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

Dear Cineastes, dear readers,and fans of great television everywhere, I must put up a sort of spoiler warning in that Episode 2 of Season 4 is going to take the whole series in a serious direction and that none of you will have seen coming.

Episode One is all tea cakes and roses compared to what’s happened now that we’ve seen Episode Two.

If you thought the sadness of Lady Mary and her mother-in-law Isobel Crawley and sad-sack Mosely’s reactions to their grief over Matthew’s death was tough stuff, you ain’t seen nothin’ yet, folks.

Ladies and gents my hat is once again off to the great writer Julian Fellowes for throwing us a curve ball of well, WRECKING ball proportions.

I’m not going to say what happened tonight. It spoils it if you know it’s coming. I knew SOMEthing was coming and it was soooo big and sooo bad that no one who’s seen the show (in England) would reveal it. So I will continue on in that silence.

But let me just say it was ANOTHER masterfully written scene, or series of scenes, where there is a great house-party, the likes and size of which we’ve not yet seen on “Downton.” Sumptuous. And it’s because Dame Nellie Melba has come to Downton Abbey to give a recital. I’m not quite sure why she came, but embodied beautifully by Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, it’s an episode that will never be forgotten.
Because, well, it’s not Dame Kiri’s fault…but no. I’ll say no more.

However EW did let something slip in its Downton Abbey Special Issue, about Episode 2, so I knew SOMEthing BIG was about to explode. And they let slip WHO it was happening to. But I won’t even go that far. You’ll just have to watch it online or on your PBS local station that may not yet have aired it.

Like for instance, in NYC, WLIW is not airing til tomorrow night. And I won’t be home in time to watch it AGAIN.

It’s something abrupt and unexpected. Coming completely out of the blue. And well, it’s shattering and VERY disturbing and beautifully played by all involved.

I guess you COULD say if you think that the excellent actress who plays Mrs. Hughes has not been sufficiently challenged so far, trust me, from now on, SHE IS. Oh god! What is her name???

Holt on a minute! I’ll go look it up!

Phyllis Logan! It’s PHYLLIS LOGAN! And it doesn’t happen to HER, but she becomes dreadfully involved in the event, and this is going to play out FOR THE WHOLE REST OF THE SEASON. Mark my words. THIS is now the main story line. It will overwhelm everything else.

Until of course, the wild mind of Julian Fellowes comes up with something equally amazing. Which I’m sure he will.

Well, done! Kudos to all! And it just means you CAN’T MISS AN EPISODE!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

