a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

There were several BIG surprises when the New York Film Critics Circle, after five reportedly contentious hours of voting, announced their winners.

Biggest among them was the shockeroo of Matthew McConaughey winning Best Supporting Actor for “Bernie” and “Magic Mike”!?!

When I saw that stat come up I could NOT take the rest of their voting seriously. First of all, both films are comedies, and second MMcC. was not THAT good in either.

I saw “Bernie” recently on a DVD screener I was sent and his performance as the Sheriff of the town in question barely registered with me. It was adequate. Just barely. And speaking of barely!

“Magic Mike”!?!? Are they kidding?!?!

That film was barely watchable and NOT because it was about male strippers…I think they did the subject a disservice. If that’s even possible.

They were all gorgeous to look at, natch, but boy! When they started to ACT!?! And that includes YOU Mr.McC! Oy vay! Bad acting at that magnitude = boredom. This film that I really thought I was the target audience for,  put me to sleep.

And it wasn’t the stripping. It was the rest of the film. And, oh yeah, male strippers are all straight. I don’t think so.

Dull, dull, duh….

However Rachel Weisz beating out the touted “front-runners” Jennifer Lawrence of “Silver Linings Playbook” and Jessica Chastain of “Zero Dark Thirty.” I REALLY thought that they were either of them going to take this, but o no, they dinn’t. So much for punditry. I don’t think J. Law is going to get ANY of these critics prizes coming up. I don’t think she’ll get the LA Film Critics and don’t think the National Board of Review will go with her, either. I wouldn’t be surprised if Marion Cotillard or Emmnuelle Riva turned up in either race.

And Rachel Weisz’ performance was superb. I loved that movie “The Deep Blue Sea” and I loved her in it. I saw it at Toronto TWO years ago! And interviewed rising co-star Tom Hiddleston, and the wonderful director Terence Davies. I even got to connect with Terence AGAIN in NYC. But neither time I did I to talk to the magnificent Rachel Weisz.

I really look forward to connecting with this super-smart Oscar winner for “The Constant Gardener” some day.  I know it seems to you all that I’ve interviewed EVERYBODY in show business at this point, as my TV show nears its’ 25th year…Yes, it’s true…I can’t believe it myself…*sigh*

But I wonder if this will catapult her into the actual Oscar Bactress race itself, though…The Hollywood Reporter wisely included her in their Best Actress Roundtable, and Scott Feinberg had her in his “A Few Minutes with Feinberg” in the Race section of http://www.thehollywoodreporter.com. He also had Matthew McC. come to think of it…

I can’t believe I’m writing about Rachel Weisz and Matthew McConaughey in the same sentence!

Next up the National Board of Review. They’re choices are always….well, gay-er than springtime, as is their membership. So I look forward to that. If Matthew McConaughey wins THERE, TOO! Uh-OH!

Matthew McConaughey over Phillip Seymour Hoffman?!? I just don’t believe it.

ANOTHER surprise was their awarding Katherine Bigelow best director for “Zero Dark Thirty.” Which won the Top Honor, Best Picture, and also Best Cinematography, too. I see that in two days. I see “Les Miserables” FINALLY tomorrow! Can’t wait!

Comments on: "Rachel Weisz Wins Best Actress in Surprise Vote from the NYFCC!" (1)

  1. Rick Shur said:

    MMcC is getting this award for doing sit-ups, and it is richly deserved. Of course, he may have done those sit-ups while sitting on the right person’s face, but who are we to quibble, Stephen?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

