a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

I went out early, and it was OK. Like 9-10am. But by one-two, it was already unbearably oppressive. One DOES have to go out to the store, sometimes. But it’s best advised to all and sundry. STAY IN.

Did not notice that I had worn white athletic socks, which actually, though the right color for a heat wave of this type, white, they were really tooooo thick to be comfortable. AT ALL.

I returned to remove them as quickly as possible and I noticed just how hot my feet felt! Like OVENS! Wearing a lighter sock would do the trick, I think, and the color isn’t important. It’s the weight of the sock.

Your feet actually sort of dictate your body heat I’ve noticed over the years. And walking one long NYC block in this heat wave is dangerous.

But then cabin fever sets in, as there is really no alternative on a Sunday.

How many times this week have I watched “Double Indemnity”??? It’s a great film, a masterpiece, and I love it, but now I’ve even RE-listened to the Special Features TWICE and they are very interesting and well done by Richard Schickel and then a second one by Len Dobbs and a Mr. Redmayne who very well may be Eddie Redmayne’s posh film expert father. He sounded a bit like Eddie…

And of course, the film is a masterpiece. And if one is going to watch something over and over again in these trapped situations, it might as well be a masterpiece.

And Fred MacMurray, Edward G. Robinson and Barbara Stanwyck are all at their career best, directed by Billy Wilder.

E.T.A. It was the first of what we now call the Film Noir genre, which I love. It didn’t even have a name then. All those Venetian blinds throwing those shadows over everyone and every thing, and you just can’t believe that Barbara Stanwyck could be that Fatal – But SHE IS! The Fatelest of Femme Fatales! It’s a masterpiece. I could watch it forever. And probably will.

Comments on: "New York Heat Wave Continues. No End in Sight. “Double Indemnity” never fails." (2)

  1. This story is so thought provoking. I couldn’t stop reading it! I think this place will become my most talked about site!

  2. This is really one of the more appealing blogs I’ve seen. It is so easy to get jaded, but there is truly some first-rate material online, and I believe your website is on the short list!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

