a.k.a. "The Oscar Messenger"

This is the third day that feels like it’s over 100 degrees. They say it’s 91, plus that heat index, especially for midtown Manhattan is plus 10 more. The streets are heated here. Great for the winter because the snow melts so quickly, but in the summer, SHEESH!

There was only one day like this last week. Wednesday. I remember that day particularly since…well…more on that later…I hope…

It’s like you take your life in your hands every time you just step outdoors, which basically you shouldn’t do.

You have to get everything done early in the AM, which is bearable, before it heats up. But now around 2pm and later, til sunset….LOOK OUT!

Wear light-colored clothing. White if possible, and always bring at least ONE bottle of water. Loose fitting clothing. A hat. An umbrella even, which deflects the sun, but again, a light-colored umbrella.

I find myself ducking into doorways of air-conditioned stores on my way to my latest destination.

Everyone in these treacherous climes, take care!

I wish I was in Provincetown NOW, where it is probably gorgeous! It was freezing when I was there. More on that later, too…

Comments on: "New York Suffering Through ANOTHER Heat Wave!" (1)

  1. When I was a kid, I tried to do the same thing and nearly
    snuffed myself.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

